7 Comments

What new books have caught my eye?

I am always hearing about new books, adding them to my exponentially growing TBR list. So today I thought I would share a few of my most recent discoveries that I am excited about. I am limiting this to books by authors I have not read yet and, at least for now, either very new or upcoming books. Pretty much books that I think other people should hear about if they haven’t already. So, here it is, I’m sharing the joy and maybe adding to someone else’s list of books to read.

18664972Title: The Moon’s Artifice

Author: Tom Lloyd

Publisher: Gollancz

Publication Date: November 21, 2013

Blurb: Tom Lloyd kicks off a spectacular new fantasy series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Joe Abercrombie and, of course, Tom Lloyd!

In a quiet corner of the Imperial City, Investigator Narin discovers the result of his first potentially lethal mistake. Minutes later he makes a second.

After an unremarkable career Narin finally has the chance of promotion to the hallowed ranks of the Lawbringers – guardians of the Emperor’s laws and bastions for justice in a world of brutal expediency. Joining that honoured body would be the culmination of a lifelong dream, but it couldn’t possibly have come at a worse time. A chance encounter drags Narin into a plot of gods and monsters, spies and assassins, accompanied by a grief-stricken young woman, an old man haunted by the ghosts of his past and an assassin with no past.

On the cusp of an industrial age that threatens the warrior caste’s rule, the Empire of a Hundred Houses awaits civil war between noble factions. Centuries of conquest has made the empire a brittle and bloated monster; constrained by tradition and crying out for change. To save his own life and those of untold thousands Narin must understand the key to it all – Moon’s Artifice, the poison that could destroy an empire.

Why I want to read it: Well, the blurb starts out by saying it’s perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin and Joe Abercrombie. Two of my favorite authors, that is liable to get my attention. But it is hard to say for sure if that claim is true until I read it or at least find a review, but the blurb alone makes me want to read it … “gods and monsters, spies and assassins,” …  Yes, Please!

17910124

Title: The Emperor’s Blades

Author: Brian Staveley

Publisher: Tor

Publication Date: January 14, 2014

Blurb: When the emperor of Annur is murdered, his children must fight to uncover the conspiracy—and the ancient enemy—that effected his death.

Kaden, the heir apparent, was for eight years sequestered in a remote mountain monastery, where he learned the inscrutable discipline of monks devoted to the Blank God. Their rituals hold the key to an ancient power which Kaden must master before it’s too late. When an imperial delegation arrives to usher him back to the capital for his coronation, he has learned just enough to realize that they are not what they seem—and enough, perhaps, to successfully fight back.

Meanwhile, in the capital, his sister Adare, master politician and Minister of Finance, struggles against the religious conspiracy that seems to be responsible for the emperor’s murder. Amid murky politics, she’s determined to have justice—but she may be condemning the wrong man.

Their brother Valyn is struggling to stay alive. He knew his training to join the Kettral— deadly warriors who fly massive birds into battle—would be arduous. But after a number of strange apparent accidents, and the last desperate warning of a dying guard, he’s convinced his father’s murderers are trying to kill him, and then his brother. He must escape north to warn Kaden—if he can first survive the brutal final test of the Kettral.

Why I want to read it: The description of this seems to have epic potential. I love the mention of “murky politics”, the multiple POVs, and yes, I do like that one of the major POVs is female… and a female in a powerful position described as “master politician”. I am extremely excited to dig into this one when I get a chance and really hope it is as good as the blurb. Tor is making the first 7 chapters of this available for free on their website. Definitely worth checking out.

17211934

Title: The Path of Anger

Author: Antoine Rouaud

Publisher: Gollancz

Publication Date: October 22, 2013

Blurb: There will be blood. There will be death. This is the path of anger. . .

Dun-Cadal has been drinking his life away for years. Betrayed by his friends – who turned their back on their ideals in favour of a new republic – and grief stricken at the loss of his apprentice, who saved his life on the battlefield and whom he trained as a knight in exchange, he’s done with politics, with adventure, and with people.

But people aren’t finished with him – not yet. Viola is a young historian looking for the last Emperor’s sword, and her search not only brings her to Dun-Cadal, it’s also going to embroil them both in a series of assassinations. Because Dun-Cadal’s turncoat friends are being murdered, one by one. . . by someone who kills in the unmistakable style of an Imperial assassin. . .

Why I want to read it: I have seen one review from a “like minded” reader, and it was favorable. That always is a big help.  This is another book, I have to admit, that I am happy to see a female character mentioned as a major character in the blurb. I can’t help it, I am a sucker for strong female characters in my fantasy books. I don’t need them to enjoy a story, but they catch my eye in blurbs like this. Also … assassinations, blood, anger, a drunk that has been betrayed is now forced to take part in what sounds to be quite a good story.

18667112

Title: The Copper Promise

Author: Jen Williams

Publisher: Headline Books

Publication Date: February 13th, 2014

Blurb: There are some far-fetched rumours about the caverns beneath the Citadel…

Some say the mages left their most dangerous secrets hidden there; others, that great riches are hidden there; even that gods have been imprisoned in its darkest depths.

For Lord Frith, the caverns hold the key to his vengeance. Against all the odds, he has survived torture and lived to see his home and his family taken from him … and now someone is going to pay. For Wydrin of Crosshaven and her faithful companion, Sir Sebastian Caverson, a quest to the Citadel looks like just another job. There’s the promise of gold and adventure. Who knows, they might even have a decent tale or two once they’re done.

But sometimes there is truth in rumour.

Soon this reckless trio will be the last line of defence against a hungry, restless terror that wants to tear the world apart. And they’re not even getting paid.

Why I want to read it: I have heard more about this one than the any of the others on my list, and it has been on my radar a bit longer.  This week I saw a reviewer on twitter praising the level of writing after starting. (*jealous*) And beyond that… the blurb: “Soon this reckless trio will be the last line of defence against a hungry, restless terror that wants to tear the world apart. And they’re not even getting paid.” – Yes, I definitely want to read this book. It sounds as amazing as the cover looks.

18248512 Title: Blades of the Old Empire: Book I of the Majat Code

Author: Anna Kashina

Publisher: Angry Robot

Publication Date: February 25th, 2014 (US), March 6th, 2014 (UK)

Blurb: Kara is a mercenary – a Diamond warrior, the best of the best, and a member of the notorious Majat Guild. When her tenure as protector to Prince Kythar comes to an end, custom dictates he accompany her back to her Guild to negotiate her continued protection.

But when they arrive they discover that the Prince’s sworn enemy, the Kaddim, have already paid the Guild to engage her services – to capture and hand over Kythar, himself.

A warrior brought up to respect both duty and honour, what happens when her sworn duty proves dishonourable?

Why I want to read it: Female mercenary, torn between duty and honor? Yes, this sounds like it could be very good indeed. And Angry Robot has a pretty good track record of publishing books I enjoy.

Advertisements

7 comments on “What new books have caught my eye?

  1. Weird. I have never heard of The Copper Promise, though you can color me intrigued. The others have been on my radar for a while, I am eying the same list.

  2. I am really surprised I haven’t heard more about Path of Anger or Moon’s Artifice. Funny how these things work out.

  3. Added Blades of the Old Empire. I’ve heard the Emperor’s Blades focuses less on the female POV in the first book. Still excited. And gah. The Path of Anger just sounds amazing.

  4. All great choices. The Emperor’s Blades in particular is one I am excited to read – the preview chapters on Tor.com are *amazing*. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on all these books as they come out!

  5. I’m looking forward to reading “The Emperor’s Blades.” “Moon’s Artifice” and “The Copper Promise” also look interesting; I hadn’t seen anything on them before, but those summaries definitely make me want to check them out. Thanks for the recommendations!

  6. […] Brian Staveley has been getting a lot of attention. The book sounds amazing and when I listed in my “books that caught my eye” post on my blog, I had this to say […]

  7. […] blogging sites. As soon as I read about it, I thought it sounded amazing and when I listed in my “books that caught my eye” post on my blog, I […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: